Office of the State Appellate Defender

Board of Commissioners Current Board Members and their Predecessors

February 2023

Appointed by:	Current Board Member	Predecessor
Governor	Justice James R. Epstein (Ret.)	Thomas M. Breen
1st District Appellate Court	Justice Bertina E. Lampkin	Justice Thomas E. Hoffman
2nd District Appellate Court	Jeff York	Justice R. Peter Grometer (Ret.)
3rd District Appellate Court	Judge James Brusatte (Ret.)	Gary A. Dobbs
4th District Appellate Court	Michelle Sanders	Kim D. Campbell
5th District Appellate Court	Justice Milton S. Wharton	Justice James K. Donovan (Ret.)
Illinois Supreme Court	Carol A. Brook	Rebecca Janowitz
Illinois Supreme Court from a panel of 3 nominees from the Illinois State Bar Association	Evan S. Bruno	J. William Lucco
Governor from a panel of 3 nominees from the Illinois Public Defender Association	Sharone R. Mitchell Jr.	Hon. Abishi C. Cunningham, Jr. (Ret.)